UPCOMING EVENTS

[Photo of two rainbows against a partly cloudy blue sky. The tops of a row of trees are cast in shadow and on the lower right side of the image. The lower rainbow is bright while the second rainbow above it is faded.]


PAST EVENTS

Creating a Culture of Accountability:

A Training for Donors and Funders with Mia Mingus

Sunday, June 12
1:30pm-3:30pm PT / 4:30pm-6:30pm ET

Register for the Donor Training now!


Put on by Right to the City and SOIL: A Transformative Justice Project

This training will offer a nuts and bolts introduction to core concepts and principles of accountability, drawing examples of accountable and harmful practices from philanthropy. This training is meant to give participants a beginning framework to work to make the changes happening in philanthropy right now become common-sense, mainstream, and permanent. Participants will learn also about SOIL’s partnership with Right To The City as an example of how transformative justice principles and practices are being implemented at a social movement organization.

Transformative justice is a generative methodology for addressing harm and violence in ways that support survivors’ healing, harmers’ accountability, and community health and well-being, without relying on existing punishment systems. Mia Mingus's work in this field has focused not only on the social transformation needed to make state violence obsolete, but also the interpersonal skills that we must develop to engage in generative healthy conflict resolution and to transform harm on the path to abolition. Her organization SOIL is working to create the conditions for transformative justice to take root through political education, skills building and strategic partnerships.

Access: Captioning will be provided at this event. ASL interpretation will also be available if needed.

We are hoping to find donors who would like to support SOIL’s work on an ongoing basis, so please share the link to register with folks you may know.

Community Transformative Justice Training with Mia Mingus

Thursday, June 16th
9:00am HT/ 12:00pm PT/ 2:00pm CT/ 3:00pm ET

The duration of the training will be approximately 3 hours.

Click here to register for the Community TJ Training


AAPI Women Lead and SOIL: A Transformative Justice Project are partnering up for a mutual aid fundraiser and community training on transformative justice.

Join us for an introductory training on transformative justice that will examine how we respond to harm and violence in our communities and how we can actively cultivate healing, accountability, resiliency, and safety for all.

Live captioning (CART) and ASL interpretation will be available for this event.

This event will not be recorded.

Tickets are $0 - $105 (no one turned away for lack of funds)

Please share the registration link with anyone you know who may be interested!